PDA

View Full Version : SPAM ALERT!! All members please read



Head Roller
03-11-2010, 06:00 AM
The latest SPAM efforts are being run through the forum PM system. While I do catch many of the attempts before they are able to complete the transaction... I have been made aware of at least 2 who have been successful in the last 2 days.

IF YOU RECEIVE A SUSPICIOUS PM FROM A MEMBER YOU DO NOT KNOW... PLEASE REPORT IT!!

Make sure you include the account name of the offender so I can make sure that all content and permissions are stripped.

Thank you.....

bleeds
03-11-2010, 06:13 AM
:spam:FRICKIN' SPAMHEADS!
I got one and forwarded to you on a PM...
Barry

horse painter
03-11-2010, 06:23 AM
Thanks Di. You are awesome.

wareagle2
03-11-2010, 08:48 AM
thanks Di! ----yet another thing to worry about now.your awesome !

Nicevillain
03-11-2010, 09:00 AM
I never get this stuff, reminds me of my Catholic school days . . . priest's would never make a move on me. What I'm not good enough? I don't have enough self esteem issues?

Annie
03-11-2010, 09:21 AM
Will do!!!

Stupid spammer

Daddymac
03-11-2010, 11:00 AM
Thanks Di!

lineofbirds
03-11-2010, 04:19 PM
Thanks for the speedy response - I knew you guys would nip this in the bud!

sherrif
03-11-2010, 04:49 PM
THANKS DI

shane
03-11-2010, 09:12 PM
i got a PM from some dude named Chromewarrior555, and he said he wanted me to send him paint, i think its spam:thinking:

horse painter
03-12-2010, 06:29 AM
i got a PM from some dude named Chromewarrior555, and he said he wanted me to send him paint, i think its spam:thinking:

:haha:Ha ha ha Those Damn Spammers. Better watch out for this one, I hear he's trying to get stuff from everyone.

Mike Rotch
03-15-2010, 03:28 PM
i got this one in my mailbox but when i checked the pm-pox it wasn't there..
used my virusscanner scanned everything top to bottom in over an hour and everything was ok...
when i tried theire online scanner it found 20 virusses in 10seconds.. seemd fishy
when i tried to scroll through the detected virusses, close the frame, abort the action i kept getting the same frame to download a program.. seemd fishy to..

i visited this site a few weeks ago and logged on once since i'm starting to airbrush, so i haven't got a clue how they could find a virus on my pc after a couple of weeks...

so here is the mail; hope it helps, so i can start picking some airbrushers brains to graduate top of my airbrushclass :-)

You have received a new private message at Airbrush Artists Resources by Mike Learn from MichealTracy, entitled "Take measures immediately!". To read the original version, respond to, or delete this message, you must log in here:http://www.learnairbrush.com/forums/private.php This is the message that was sent:***************Dear, Mike Rotch! A virus alert was noticed on your computer. We highly recommend you to check your computer and perform online virus check at our site immediately: http://anti-malware.servebbs.org/online-scanner/Mike Rotch If you do not pass this test* we will have to delete your account and forward a complaint to your ISP with attached log file (your IP address, etc.).----------------------------------------------------

Head Roller
03-15-2010, 03:32 PM
MichealTracy was banned and all his PMs deleted.. .. that is why it is no longer in your PM box.

Please continue to let me know if you receive fishy PMs.

Mike Rotch
03-15-2010, 03:50 PM
well that's a quick answer

i'm glad it's spam and your not actually going to kick me :buttkick:

so my pc is secure, the spammer is kicked, and i can keep surfin' this great site!!

all is well that ends well

thank you !!!

Marge Cameron
03-15-2010, 05:06 PM
:haha:Ha ha ha Those Damn Spammers. Better watch out for this one, I hear he's trying to get stuff from everyone.

Yeah, no shit. I'm still trying to figure out why he needs my thong for airbrushing. Good thing they isolate dudes like that from the mainland!
:em3900:

heia_hjallis
03-15-2010, 06:46 PM
Thanks for the info.
Diana: have you checked www.stopforumspam.com? They have a mod that I use on our Norwegian forum. It works perfect on our forum. It checks the IP, username and email against known spammer in their database. You may have to manually approve 'suspicious' new members, but thats better than all the spam...

painterguy
03-15-2010, 06:50 PM
thanx Di... always on the job...

Head Roller
03-15-2010, 08:52 PM
Thanks for the info.
Diana: have you checked www.stopforumspam.com (http://www.stopforumspam.com)? They have a mod that I use on our Norwegian forum. It works perfect on our forum. It checks the IP, username and email against known spammer in their database. You may have to manually approve 'suspicious' new members, but thats better than all the spam...

Mutt just forwarded that info to me recently... i saw their cross check but have not installed it... nice to know that it works....

Annie
03-16-2010, 07:25 AM
I agree with Shane and Marge. That Chromewarrior dude keeps trying to get us in the chat room....I think he wants to sell us condos or something...


hehehe Love ya Island boy :D

Anita Richards
03-17-2010, 08:07 AM
This also happen to me a few days ago. But the program was Antivirus 7 . It keep prompting me to by there software, And if I didn't it would not let me on the Internet. I called my computer guy right away. Thank goodness he had a program he could email. and we worked for hours, and finally got it off. The computer is ok but not running as good as before, ever after spending $100.00 to have it fixed. I think it is pretty shitty for programs to exist like this. Anita

lineofbirds
03-22-2010, 05:36 PM
This also happen to me a few days ago. But the program was Antivirus 7 . It keep prompting me to by there software, And if I didn't it would not let me on the Internet. I called my computer guy right away. Thank goodness he had a program he could email. and we worked for hours, and finally got it off. The computer is ok but not running as good as before, ever after spending $100.00 to have it fixed. I think it is pretty shitty for programs to exist like this. Anita

I hear you Anita! I have had to remove this particular program from MANY computers. (I'm a professional geek - lol)
I can help you get your computer back up to speed, if you're interested. I have a couple of valid links that can get the last traces of that malware off of it, as well as clear out anything else that might be hiding. - And I can help you learn how to keep that crap from getting back in. My first suggestion would be to visit majorgeeks.com and read what they have to say about it. Here's an article they wrote on the subject. http://forums.majorgeeks.com/showthread.php?t=44525
What antivirus program do you use? -and do you have any additional spyware/malware blocking programs installed?
I use AVG9 as my antivirus scanner, Spyware Blaster (if it's updated regularly it stops this crap from ever showing up, but doesn't remove anything) and Adaware to scan for malware and spyware that may have gotten in. I have NEVER had a serious infection running the three in conjunction, and have been using the three together for nearly a decade.
When I fix computers for others there are a few other big guns I pull out, but these definitely keep a system clean.

lineofbirds
04-10-2010, 08:20 PM
The latest SPAM efforts are being run through the forum PM system. While I do catch many of the attempts before they are able to complete the transaction... I have been made aware of at least 2 who have been successful in the last 2 days.

IF YOU RECEIVE A SUSPICIOUS PM FROM A MEMBER YOU DO NOT KNOW... PLEASE REPORT IT!!

Make sure you include the account name of the offender so I can make sure that all content and permissions are stripped.

Thank you.....

What's the best method for alerting you when this happens? Maybe you could give us a "REPORT ABUSE" button somewhere to make it clear to all of us where you'd rather we sent the information. If there is one - I apologize, as I haven't noticed it yet.
YES, I got another one...
" JosephWard

LearnAirbrush.com Family

JosephWard's Avatar

JosephWard
View JosephWard's Photo Album Check Out MY Albums
My Blogs: View Blog
MOJO Buck$: 401 [Donate]
Member Number: 13268
Thanks:
Thanked Times in Posts

JosephWard is online now

Dear, lineofbirds!

Spam sending from your computer was detected.
We highly recommend you to check your computer and perform online virus check at our site immediately: http://anti-malware2010.webcindario.com/online-scanner/
If you do not pass this test* we will have to delete your account and forward a complaint to your ISP with attached log file (your IP address, etc.).

----------------------------------------------------
Forum Administration www.learnairbrush.com"

:bsflag:

David McMillen
04-11-2010, 04:22 AM
I got it to

wild guns
04-11-2010, 07:53 AM
i received a PM yesterday , and he said he was the admin of this forum and that my computer was sending out Spam and i better get it fixed or i would be deleted. and my IP address was registered, Etc.

i just deleted this PM and didn't worry about it
did I do the right thing???


Curtis (wild guns)

jumpforjoy61
04-11-2010, 12:42 PM
im imune to this sort of thing as i have never taken a blind bit of notice of admin anyway :biglaugh: